Remembering Things You Already Know

Today Ellie had her 15 month check up. As usual I completed the ASQ and answered all of the doctors questions…yes she eats well (she eats more than I do!), yes she is in a rear facing car seat, yes she has regular bowel movements, and so on. And then the doctor asks if she is walking. Oh! That elusive adventure of walking! My Ellie girl is just NOT ready to depart on that adventure yet. After explaining to the doctor how everyone keeps asking whether she is walking yet or not and how the average is 16 months the docot says two things: the average is on a bell shaped curve, and I bet she is talking and using those fine motor skills. Well, yes as a matter of fact! She does three piece puzzles, colors and scribbles with crayons, talks your ear off, tracks planes in the sky, builds a tower of 8 blocks, and unzips and snaps things. The docot was surprised that she was doing all of these things, and then reminded me that a ch7ld can only build development in one area at a time. They can’t do it all at once.

I knew all that. I really did. Knowing development is what I do for a living; it’s also a central part of my college major. Bell shaped curves are a huge part of pyschology statistics and research too. And yet, when it comes to my own child I forgot it all. It’s amazing how you sometimes you have to remember things that you already know. And now I can relax and enjoy the adventure of fine motor exploration and my 15 month old talking my ear off. Becase it’s a bell shaped curve….some children walk before the everage and some walk after. She will probably walk after, and that’s ok. You can only have so many adventures at a time.

“But the greatest way to witness is by walking that straight and narrow and also realizing that your going to mess up. That’s what grace is for. We’re going to fall, but we’ve got to get back up. And you’ve got to Improve. That’s what I’m all about.” – Tim Tebow

Leave a Reply

