All At Once

“Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God.”

― Corrie ten Boom

“A man that flies from his fear may find that he has only taken a short cut to meet it.”
― J.R.R. TolkienThe Children of Húrin

It seems that so often in life it all comes at once. You think you have it all figured out and everything is going to go smoothly…and in the blink of an eye your well laid plans are lying in a thousand pieces before you. There can be so much fear in life. So much fear in uncertainty, in decisions, in each and every moment of the day. I admit that sometimes, no, most times I am swallowed up by this fear, this lack of trust in Him who knows it all, sees it all, and cares for all. It’s easy to say that we trust God; but do we really? We can say it, but how to we live it? I think that half the battle lies in acknowledging the fear, in admitting to ourselves that we doubt. And then it all comes down to how we live in the midst of our fear and doubt. I say the best thing to do is to face the fear head on, do the thing that scares you, make the uncertain choice, and all the while know the peace in your heart that He holds your life in His hand; trust your unknown future to a known God.

Since fear is such a huge and recurring theme in my life I can venture a guess that it will be something that Ellie will pick up on as she learns and grows. It is not, however, something that I want her to learn. I do not want her to learn to fear…and children learn so much by what they see. So now it’s up to me. If only for her I cannot allow fear to reign and take hold in my life. Instead of inspiring her to fear every day and life as a whole I want to inspire her to stand in the face of fear and life and hold fast to the knowledge that God holds her future in His hands. I also don’t want her to have unrealistic expectations. Fear does exist, fear is acceptable to feel, but it is not something that we should allow to control us. Instead of hiding my fear from Ellie, I aim to acknowledge it. But not just that, I aim to live my life in a way that faces fear and ultimately overcomes.

Aristotle said, “He who has overcome his fears will truly be free”. This is truth about life that I want Ellie to know. And will I continue to struggle with uncertainty, overwhelming circumstances, and fear? Of course! It’s not a one-time battle. One fear dismissed can open the door for another fear to manifest itself in a person’s life. But it is the struggle that builds character and confidence, and it is this struggle that Ellie will see; I can only pray that she will learn from me not to fear, but to overcome. And with God’s grace and peace she can; and I can too.

Leave a Reply

