Azrielle = Love

“He has shown you, O man, what is good.  And what does the Lord require of you?  But to act justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.”
―     Micah 6:8

“Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.”
― Mother Teresa

For some, meaning is found in what they do. For others it is in a song, a book, or a person. Others may question what meaning is, and where it can be found. In my eyes, meaning is everywhere.

This is my beautiful daughter, Azrielle. My husband and I thought long and hard about what name to give her. I believe that a name is a legacy, so the legacy that we started our daughter off in her life with was an important decision. After much reading and researching we finally settled on Azrielle. Her name is Hebrew and it means “God is my helper”. I love this meaning. When I am having a hard day, and when my mind is filled with doubt and fear…all I have to do is look at her, and I am reminded “God is my helper”. This is the meaning that her name holds. Not only is it true for me, but it is true for her as well. Not only does her name serve as a constant reminder for me, but it will for her as well. When she is old enough to understand, we will tell her what her name means. And since a name is such a vital part of a person, the truth that her name holds within it will also be a vital part of her and her life. Meaning. Some people find it in a name.


Not only does the meaning of Azrielle’s name relate to God’s truth, but the truth that it represents relates to life. It begs the questions, if God is going to be my helper, what is He going to ask of me? In what circumstances or trials will I need His help? Perhaps when she learns of the meaning of her name she will wonder, “why will I need God’s help?” And truth be told, dear girl, there will be many instances in your life when you will need His help. Hold strong to this truth, He will be there to help you. Live your life in the knowledge that He will be there to help you; but remember, not only do we ask something of God, but He asks something of us. Walk justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with him; with His help you will be able to achieve this. Meaning. A name can have meaning pertaining to life.

And meaning can be found in places other than a name. For some, meaning inspires meaning. Azrielle brought a while new dimension of meaning to my life. She taught me so much more about love than I could’ve learned any other way.  She was part of my inspiration to permanently represent multiple dimensions and meaning of love in my own life. And so finally I fulfilled a long time dream to embark on the adventure of getting a tattoo.

I am so glad I did. This mark is a daily reminder of love. Love. Perhaps this is one of the most over used words in society today. And yet, it exists. So what is it? If you take a moment to think about what love really is, if you look past all that water that has changed the commonly held perception of this word you might be able to glimpse the truth of what love is. It is so much more than a feeling. It is so much more than a relationship. Sometimes, it is something that you cannot express, or define. And yet, it exists. Some people may perceive the meaning of love in different ways. For me, love is represented in many ways.

Infinite love. Love that never ends. Love that never fails. Kristian Stanfill says it this way: “Your love never fails, it never gives up, it never runs out on me”. Not only does God help us, but He loves us too. Forever. And this is the meaning that my tattoo holds…god will ALWAYS love me. Infinitely. He loved me so much that He gave the ultimate sacrifice; His own son, in exchange for the forgiveness of everything that I have done and will do wrong. Can love mean more than that sacrifice? Can it mean more than that deep and unending commitment? Infinite love.

And with the arrival of Azrielle I came to understand the depth of that sacrifice. I think that this is what motivated me to record upon my  body the truth that God loves me infinitely. I finally understood just what His sacrifice meant. For me, my tattoo represents more than just God’s love for me. It also represents my love for my husband. It represents a commitment that I made and will keep forever, infinitely. Infinite love, God has it for me. Infinite love, I have it for my husband. Infinite love, for Azrielle. But this love is so different than the love I have committed to for my husband; it was a love that I didn’t choose. Obviously, you know you are going to love  your children. But you never expect to be filled with that powerful, incomprehensible, strong and indescribable love that overtakes your mind and your heart and your whole entire body when you set your eyes, for the first time on your newborn child. You can’t help but to love her. It just happens, it just is, and you know with every part of your soul that it always will be.

But love is so much more. What do you do with love? I say, you show it. You live it, and you behave in love wherever and whenever you can. And so my tattoo reminds me that not only does God infinitely love me, but I should act His infinite love in whatever I do. It doesn’t have to be big things, although those are great if you get the chance. But show God’s love in the small ways too. Smile at someone in the grocery store, help the elderly man who has fallen in the icy parking lot, pray for a friend who is struggling. Pray for a stranger. Use a kind word with your co-workers instead of a curt answer. Jesus loved people in big ways, but He loved them in small ways too. And whenever I am tempted to act in anger, or to avoid helping someone I remember the mark on my neck…the one that reminds me to love, and of the love that I hold for other, and the love that is held for me. Infinite love. I hope that I can show even a glimpse of God’s infinite love wherever I go.

Meaning. Some people find it in a tattoo. And some people find it in a name. So, my dear Azrielle, I hope that someday you find the meaning of God’s love for you and bury it deep down in  your heart. And always remember, in whatever adventures life brings your way, God is your helper. He loves you infinitely. And so do I.

 

Leave a Reply

