Blessings

Because most people will never know anything beyond what they see with their own two eyes. ~ Nightcrawler

I haven’t been able to get these words out of my head all week long.

It all began last Sunday, with molten chocolate lava cakes and an X-Men movie marathon with some awesome people while Baby K munched his snacks and played with his toys and Ellie enjoyed a marathon of Doc McStuffins. There is no doubt; I am a huge science-fiction fan. Fantasy, science-fiction…that’s the way to go; call me nerdy, but I love it! And when a totally profound statement such as this is gleaned from a movie as entertaining as X-Men is…it makes my inner nerd go crazy!

But seriously…that dark skinned, tattooed mutant’s words have been stuck in my head all week long…

Most people will never know anything beyond what they see with their own two eyes.

And I know that he is right.

Our eyes have a way of seeing without feeling. Of seeing without acknowledging. And they tend to turn away from anything that is less-than-pleasing.

We like to focus on the good things. The blessed things. You know, how all of your friends are “-feeling so blessed”. That little end note tacked on to the end of what seems like every status. Blessed that it is sunny. Blessed that the baby slept. Blessed that their husband works so hard. Blessed that they got a new car. Blessed that they had an awesome day out shopping with friends. Blessed by the sunrise at the beach. The blessings go on and on…everyday our eyes see nothing but our own blessed lives.

While your next door neighbors kids just witnessed their mom assault their dad. And that new family at your church has been eating Cheerios all week because that is all that they can afford. And the little girl down the road is running around bare foot on a cold and dirty floor with her mother yelling at her to “just quiet down”. A young boy has what you would avert your eyes and call a tantrum, spending a half hour screaming, kicking, spitting, and crying when his mom drops him off at school…when really all he needs is a hug. The lady in front of you at the grocery store check out is frowning at you (while what she really needs is a smile to encourage her – because little do you know she is a victim of domestic violence).

And the children. So many children affected by so many things.Children experience poverty with their hands, minds and hearts. Living in an environment that provides little stimulation or emotional support to children, on the other hand, can remove many of the positive effects of growing up (UNICEF,2015). And it doesn’t matter why or how or whose fault it is…but 32.2 percent of children are living below the poverty line. And I’m not talking about somewhere far away. I’m talking about right here. Right now. In your community. And that simple statistic puts those sweet little children at risk for so many things…and a life full of so much heartbreak and not much hope.

And yet we don’t even see. We are so focused on our blessings that we fail to see the curses that haunt those around us.

And I know that Nightcrawler had it right…most people will never see. Because they choose not to.

Oh…but what am I going to be able to do? I don’t have money to give…I don’t have time…

Maybe all you have to do is look beyond what you see. Look beyond yourself and your blessings, and see the need that is much closer than you may have thought.

Volunteer at a local school or after school program. Donate your kid’s old clothes to a community agency. Smile at the mom who looks stressed out in the grocery store. Say a prayer for that little kid whose mom is saying demeaning, negative things to him in the Dollar Tree.

Don’t hide in your safe little world, admiring all of your blessings. See the world and be a blessing for it. And your blessings will seem even sweeter, because you will know just how much you have.

Give me Your eyes for just one second
Give me Your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing
Give me Your love for humanity
Give me Your arms for the broken-hearted
Ones that are far beyond my reach
.

Give me Your heart for the ones forgotten
Give me Your eyes so I can see

-Brandon Heath

Leave a Reply

