In Which I Lay Down My Sword, And Weep.

“You may choose to look the other way but you can never say again that you did not know.”
― William Wilberforce

“The movement that has long called itself “evangelical” is in fact better labeled “soterian.” That is, we have thought we were talking about “the gospel” when in fact we were concentrating on “salvation.”
― Scot McKnight, The King Jesus Gospel: The Original Good News Revisited

“For like a shaft, clear and cold, the thought pierced him that in the end the Shadow was only a small and passing thing: there was light and high beauty for ever beyond its reach.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Return of the King

I woke up this morning with a general feeling of angst. Maybe you’ve felt this way too. It’s that unnatural calm that happens before the storm; when the leaves are still, and the breeze is forgotten, when the whole world seems to be holding its breath….and yet, there is something brewing, something massive and deadly. You just can’t see it yet.

I woke up this morning and took a deep breath. I am so tired. I am so weak. I have been fighting this battle for so long.

Today I am calm on the outside, but on the inside I know that my entire world is about to change. It’s coming, and there is nothing that I can do to stop it.

And yet….and yet, it could have been stopped.

This didn’t need to happen.

But here we are. Changing people’s lives, children’s lives because we refuse to put others first.

And I just struggle with this so much.

My heart is broken for this community of believers. Genuinely, I grieve the obvious truth – that we have forgotten the One whom we serve. Or we have never truly known who we serve in the first place. We have allowed our culture to shape the One we serve and claim to love, while failing to embark on the journey of loving Him ourselves.

And I do not type these harsh words with anger…the battle has drawn all anger from me. I type these words with a burdened heart. A broken heart. With tears in my eyes.

And I grieve what this says of us. What message are we so proudly proclaiming to the world? To those who do not believe? The ones for whom He came? The ones for whom He as equipped us to love…

We claim to serve a God of love, but have not love for anyone but ourselves within our hearts.

We hang our hats on translations and take issue with anything that either we don’t understand, or which inconveniences us.

We are a lukewarm body of believers. Disjointed. Fractured. Failing.

Matthew 5:13-16 “You are the salt of the earth, but if salt has lost its taste, how shall its saltiness be restored? It is no longer good for anything except to be thrown out and trampled under people’s feet. “You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.

And what is that light that we are shining? We spew mistrust, and fear, and hate. We refuse to listen. We makes claims which are founded on feelings. We embrace conspiracy.

Our salt has lost its taste.

Matthew 22:37-40 And he said to him, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the great and first commandment. And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. On these two commandments depend all the Law and the Prophets.

And so, I urge you, my brothers and sisters in Christ. Take time to consider both sides of the perspective. Both sides of the story. And filter everything through with Love in mind. Push yourself to take the perspective of another. To consider the implications of your choices and behaviors outside of yourself.

And how can I say this, you might say?

Because at this moment in time….

At this moment in history…

This virus is being spread by CHURCHES.

And yes, I know, God will save us all. And He does. And He will.

But we also have brains given to us by said God. And some among us (no imposter’s please) are using said brains to learn and understand the world around us so that we all can live healthier, happier lives. And some of these are using said brains to perform roles in our government. (Please, no Trumpism here). I don’t know where this mindset that all those in government or roles of influence are unbelieving, out to get us, crazy people came from….I’m starting to think that we are the crazy ones.

And please remember that God gave us brains which are capable of taking the perspective of another. So think about your choices. Think about your actions. Think about the single mom. The working families. Those who have limited or no resources.

Really, doctors and nurses have been wearing masks for ages…..pre COVID. But when it comes to protecting and caring for others and requires you to wear one it’s suddenly the angel of death?

I just….please. Let’s be logical peeps.

Directly or indirectly, your actions affect others.

No, they aren’t a perfect solution. But they significantly reduce the transmission of this illness.

We have to stop! This has to end! This is not a political issue. This is not something on which “sides” are needed.

This is about our community. This is not about us. And we, we Christians…We should be leading this charge, setting an example for the rest of the world, truly being a city set on a hill shining the light of love for others.

And I realize that I am weary. That my words will probably reduce my circle of friends. But I offer this counter-narrative not out of malice. I offer it for myself as well as for you. We cannot lose heart.

Because today my heart feels lost. I am so tired. This battle is so hard. My soul is weary. My mind is dark. My hope is fading. That darkness that has overwhelmed before looms again on the brink of my existence.

I don’t want to go to that place again. But I’m tired of fighting….it seems that no matter what I do, it is never enough.

And it’s not. And I know this. And it’s ok. This will be okay.

But we need each other, guys. We need to be the light of love for both this world and for each other. We cannot fracture and divide ourselves over issues. We need to stay together. To work together. For the good and love of all. And sometimes that means doing things that make us uncomfortable. That maybe we don’t agree with one hundred percent.

But this is our call to arms. Our chance. Our tribulation. Our moment in history. To shine.

Let not the church be remembered for defying all wisdom, all knowledge. Let not the church be recorded in history as bringing death and destruction and burden to those whom He came to save and to whom He called us to love.

Instead, let the church be remembered for it’s selfless actions. It’s ability to love. It’s commitment to hope. It’s patience in tribulation. It’s constancy in prayer for ourselves and community. For it’s contributions which meet the needs of the community. And most of all, let the church be remembered for it’s love.

And so Ellie and Kreade, I hope as you learn and grow, you can recognize that battles are lost and won. And this is life. But hold on to hope. Hold on to love. Remain patient in tribulation, faithful in staying the course. Hold on to your salt. Shine your light. Surround yourself with other lovers of Jesus. Hold on to love. Hold on to hope. Hold on to Him.

Romans 12:9 Let love be genuine. Abhor what is evil; hold fast to what is good. Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor. Do not be slothful in zeal, be fervent in spirit, serve the Lord. Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Contribute to the needs of the saints and seek to show hospitality.

Leave a comment